Daily Archives: December 19, 2017

Online survey will help GAA develop 2018-2020 Strategic Plan

Information below provided by gaa.ie. We would encourage all members, club officers and players to fill the survey out.

Every GAA member and anyone with an interest in Gaelic Games is being encouraged to help the Association develop its Strategic Plan for the period 2018-2020 by completing an online survey.

Every completed survey will play its part in developing the GAA’s strategies and goals for the next three-year period.

If you have strong views on how the GAA should deal with issues such as fixture planning, coaching structures, administration, rules and regulations, recruitment and retention of players, ticketing, the promotion of hurling, and training of referees among many others, this is your opportunity to have your voice heard.

A Steering Group chaired by the Uachtarán-tofa, John Horan, has been put in place to develop the Association’s strategy and this survey is part of phase one of the process.

The survey will run until January 15, 2018, after which the second phase will involve the production of a consultation paper based largely on the feedback from the survey.

All clubs are encouraged to ask their members to complete the online survey which will take approximately five minutes – GAA Strategic Planning Survey


Thurles Gaels AGM 2017

Our Annual General Meeting took place on the 15th of December in Hayes Hotel. It was well attended by players and members. The hard work put in by all members in 2017 was reflected upon.  The need for all members of Thurles Gaels to support fundraising efforts next year, whether that be the Senior club, Ladies Football or Juveniles, was highlighted. It is vital that everyone gives their all next year so that our club can reach its full potential.

Thank you to outgoing Club Officers Paul Mahony and Adrian McGinley for their service in the past number of years.  Paul served as Club Secretary. He was thanked by Chairman Kieran O’ Dwyer for his service and it is hoped that he will continue to be involved in some way. Paul’s successor is Pat Flanagan. Pat is very well respected within our club and further afield in County Tipperary. We are sure that he will use his years of experience within the GAA and benefit the club greatly. It was also promising to see some of our younger members elected as committee members, we hope they will bring some of their youthful energy and initiative to the committee.

The following positions of Club Officers were ratified:

President: Nancy O’ Dwyer

Vice President: Michael Gleeson

Chairperson: Kieran O’ Dwyer

Vice Chairperson: Paul Shelley

Secretary: Pat Flanagan

Assistant Secretary/Insurance Officer: Philomena McNamara

Treasurer: Brian Fitzgibbon

PRO/Ladies Football Rep: Eimear O’ Dwyer

County Board Rep: John Donovan

Mid-Board Rep: Pat Flanagan

Player’s Rep: Liam Dorney

Children’s Officer: Aisling McGinley

Club Lotto Coordinator: Larry Kavanagh

Committee Members: Pat Kerwick, John Dooley, John Nolan, Paudie Fitzpatrick, Morgan Lanigan, David Fogarty, Seamus Doran.

The positions of Assistant Treasurer and Child Welfare Officer are yet to be filled. These will be ratified at our next meeting. Best of luck to our new committee for the coming year, a great team has been put together in my opinion. Our newly elected Club Officers look forward to working with all players and members of Thurles Gaels in 2018. We hope that through hard work, enthusiasm and teamwork our club will continue to grow.