U14 Football County-Final June 2014

Thurles Gaels Capture First Ever County Title

County U14 C Football Final
Thurles Gaels 6-09 St. Patrick’s 4-09

Thurles Gaels secured their first County Juvenile title after a titanic battle with St Patrick’s which needed extra time to separate the two sides. The club have only been in existence for nine years, great credit to these young history making Gaels.

This did not look likely after the first few minutes of the game which saw St Pat’s run into an early lead with points from Frank Meagher and Conor Duggan followed by goals in quick succession by Michael O’Brien and Conor Duggan. As the game progressed, Gaels settled down with a point from play and a free from Aaron Delaney with goals in the space of a few minutes from captain Brian O’Halloran and Ronan McGuire. Play ebbed from end to end with both sides adding a goal and a point before half time. The Gaels scores courtesy of Ronan McGuire and St Pat’s goal scored by Michael O’Brien and a point from Dale Murphy.

After the break, Gaels seemed to take control with a goal and a point from Aaron Delaney and a point from Ronan McGuire. St Pat’s were not giving up without a fight, with points from Eoin Ryan and Dale Murphy and a free from Conor Duggan.  After Gary Delaney had given everything in goals, Thomas Grimes was called on and both played crucial roles. This was a rip roaring, heart stopping, bodies on the line game. The noise was deafening as Ronan McGuire added two to put us four points up. Somehow St. Patrick’s found a way as time ran out Conor Duggan scored a goal and a point to take the match into extra time.

Taking the slight wind advantage that was there, Gaels really took off in extra time with a goaled penalty from Aaron Delaney followed by a free and two points from play from the brilliant Ronan McGuire to leave them 5 points ahead at the break of extra time. In the second half St Pat’s tried hard but could not break down the Gaels defense only adding two points to their tally courtesy of Conor Duggan and Eoin Ryan while Gaels added another goal through midfielder Thomas Stokes. The final whistle was greeted by jubilant Gaels supporters and captain Brian O’Halloran accepted the trophy on their behalf. Final Score was Thurles Gaels 6-9 to St Pat’s 4-9.

Thurles Gaels:- Garry Delaney, Jack Murphy, Taylor O’Meara, Chris Munroe, Shane Ryan, Oscar Lipinski, Kevin Patan, Thomas Stokes, Aaron Delaney, Ronan McGuire, Brian O’Halloran, Mark Murphy and Martin O’Reilly. Subs: Joey Dee, Paudi O’Gorman, Reece Carroll.

St Pat’s: Michael Ryan, Jack Meagher, Patrick Griffin, James Horan, Sean Ryan, Darragh Hall, Dale Murphy, Conor Duggan, Pauric O’Brien, Eoin Ryan, Frank Meagher, Adam Cuddihy and Michael O’Brien. Subs: James Fitzgerald, Quinn Moran, Eoghan Fitzgerald and Keith Morrissey

Referee: Tadgh Lonergan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

14 Jun 2014                                                                         Report by Neil Ryan, PRO County Coiste na nÓg.